Heritage awards

APA wins NSW Heritage Volunteer Award

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 6.24.31 PM

On December 3, the APAs Heritage Team of Marianne Nestor, Margot McKay and Helen Wheeler received this award on behalf of the APA at the Heritage Branch of the NSW Department of Planning. The award was presented by the Hon. Tony Kelly MLC.

The Heritage Sub-Committee of the APA plays a vital role in preserving and protecting, in particular, Artarmon’s conservation area from inappropriate development by engendering community pride in the suburb’s history, uniqueness and beauty.

The team undertakes extensive research into local landmark buildings, hosts historical displays and exhibitions about the suburb and writes regularly for the Artarmon Gazette. Contributions to Heritage in 2010 were the history of the Artarmon Church/Library; a series of recollections about their school days from many past students of Artarmon Public School for the school’s centenary; and a morning at the Historic Houses Trust Library on the architecture, design and landscaping of the California Bungalow.

All the research undertaken by the Committee is donated to the Local History section of Willoughby Library to be permanently preserved.

The Committee now has a new member, Katie Walshe, and Marianne, Helen, Margot and Katie are already busy planning this year’s major project: “Artarmon Shopping Precinct – amazing stories of the changing nature of the businesses and the people who own them”.


Other Which Hue media